Wednesday, 28 October 2015

Official count shows CCM sweep in Lake Zone

From Daily News, Dar es Salaam
By Daily News Reporter

On the other hand, the ruling party has performed poorly in Dar es Salaam and Kilimanjaro regions where the opposition has regained its parliamentary seats and added more to its list of MPs.

In the newly-formed Simiyu Region, CCM clinched all seven parliamentary seats in addition to all but one in Mwanza where Chadema managed to retain the Ukerewe seat. CCM regained Nyamagana and Ilemela constituencies where Mr Stanlaus Mabula and Ms Angelina Mabula have been declared winners, throwing out Ezekia Wenje and Highness Kiwia, both of CHADEMA.

The Returning Officer for Nyamagana Constituency, Mr Tito Mahinya, announced that Mr Mabula scoped 81,170 against 79,280 garnered by Mr Wenje. Meanwhile, the Returning Officer for Chato constituency, Mr Joel Ally, has announced Dr Medard Kalemani as the new MP by scooping 78,817 against 32,000 won by CHADEMA candidate Benedict Lukanima.

Dr Kalemani thus succeeds CCM’s Union presidential race frontrunner, Dr John Magufuli, who represented the constituency for the past 20 years, ten of which he sailed through unopposed.